ImageThis week I tried out a new recipe that was so good I felt compelled to hop back on here and share it with you all: pop tarts.

At least one person seemed a bit surprised that I was making pop tarts, so let me explain. Personally when it comes to the boxed toaster pastries, I could take them or leave them. The filling makes me happy, but the abundance of flavorless crust does not. My boyfriend on the other hand, finds them to be the perfect night time snack and when I saw this recipe I felt compelled to try to top one of his favorites.

Here’s a link to the recipe from Smitten Kitchen:

http://goo.gl/ltLrC

I made two types, strawberry and blueberry, using a strawberry glaze for both. These things are AMAZING straight out of the oven. I not only burnt my tongue pretty badly because I just couldn’t wait to taste them, I also made my roommate get out of bed to come have a taste and she agreed it was worth it. I found a basic recipe for the glaze on someone else’s blog, pretty simple just powdered sugar, a splash of milk and a bit of fruit (one strawberry in this case).

ImageShane agreed that the bar has been raised.

Next time I think I’ll try using apricot and cantaloupe ginger preserves as filling. I picked up a jar of apricot preserves for this batch, but just didn’t feel like heating up three different batches of filling by the time I got home. The cantaloupe ginger preserves have been sitting in my cupboard since I took a canning class two summers back. They came out a little on the runny side and I think that simmering them with cornstarch would be the perfect way to finally get to enjoy them.

The next favorite I’m going to try to improve upon, or at least wow Shane with, kielbasa. It’s going to happen Val! Don’t expect an update next week or anything, but within the next few months, you will most likely hear about it. I’m giving myself until August to pull that one off since it requires equipment. In the mean time, let me know if you decide to try out the pop tarts!

