When you really start to think that I’ve disappeared, or given up on this blog, you should have some sort of sneaking suspicion that a semi-quarterly update is lurking. Here it is:

Over the weekend Shane and I camped out on Old Rag Mountain in Virginia’s Shenandoah National Park. This was my first time winter camping and backcountry camping. I know that I am not alone in saying that this is hands down my favorite day hike in the area. Late in the afternoon on Saturday, we hiked in on the fire road which most folks take on their way out, completing the loop. We found a nice spot about two and a half miles in to the eight mile circuit. We set up our tent shortly before dark, explored the woods a bit and then basically hunkered down for the night as soon as the temperature started to drop. The forecast was calling for the day’s winds to die down and a low of 27 degrees, but the winds kept going for some time and it felt like it got to be a little colder than called for. The only thing that was able to get me out of my sleeping bag after dark was a glimpse of the sky. The stars sparkled like diamonds and I did head out just long enough to feel as though I had really taken them in. In the morning Shane fixed up some ramen noodles and coffee to get us warmed up and ready to hike. It’s always fun to share this hike with someone who’s never done it before. Especially someone who really appreciates it! Check out some of the views below and you’ll see why I love it so much.

